PDA

View Full Version : Fuel ?????

NJD
03-11-2007, 09:55 AM
Hey what kind of fuel is everyone using? Do you guys get premium from a local gas station or do you buy race fool from the local bike shop? I was thinking of getting Sunoco ultra 94 and then adding octane booster, I was wondring if that would work or if I would encounter any issues. Anyone try this before?

CorvetteZ06
03-11-2007, 09:58 AM
good qeustion, if you have a high compression motor, and could not get race gas for some reason, would it be ok to run ultra 94 + octane booster?

pimpt250r
03-11-2007, 10:51 AM
Im not a mechanic,
,Im a painter
but I would'nt run any type of octane booster
that is so bad for your engine its not even funny,,
because its not really booster its a chemical that helps the fuel burn better/hotter
if you added it to a 5gallon can your only gonna get maybe 2 more points out of it
not really worth the 6-9 dollars your gonna spend on 1 bottle
go to your little home town airport and run A/V
i think thats around 100 octane 4-5$ a gallon

ChvyCruzen
03-11-2007, 11:01 AM
AV gas is also known as 100LL. LL means low lead. Their octane rating system is different than the ones we use at the pump. AV gas is actually about 112 octane if thats what you were to get at the pump. I think its about 4 bucks a gallon, I get it myself but its been a while since I got some.

I wouldnt run octane booster either. I'd run AV gas if you're above 180 psi. It runs a little hotter on AV gas and the lead helps keep stuff clean. My plug doesnt get as brown compared to pump gas but I know its not lean. You'll have to change your jetting for AV gas or race gas if you end up using that.

GPracer2500
03-11-2007, 12:09 PM
Here's some facts about 100LL and it's octane rating. If you don't want to read everything, that's fine--the parts in bold are all that really matters: