View Full Version : banshee problem

x rider1291
03-03-2007, 10:57 AM
me and my dad just put reeds on our banshee. everything went well and then wen we went to start it it just revs wide open by itself. we havent really had too much time to look at it because my dad works alot. but i checked the to make sure the carbs were in rite and the floats were not stuck. im thinking its the throttle cable but i could be wrong....any ideas would be great.

thanks guys

400exrider989
03-03-2007, 03:13 PM
if you want you can try and take off the throttle cables and get cable blaster, it blast all the gunk out inside the rubber and stuff
and then lubs the inside, or take it to the yama dealer and get them to put new cables in.
BUT buy some carb cleaner and balst out myour carbs first becuase you slides might be gunky

just what you might wanna try but im no expert

x rider1291
03-05-2007, 02:37 PM
thx 400 we'll try it out

any other ideas?

TWILES
03-05-2007, 04:13 PM
If the throttle was hung it would be obvious. Did you put new gaskets between the reed cage and the motor? Thats what 2-strokes do if they are pulling air in past the reed cage. If its before, it won't rev out like that on it own. My old 500 Quadracer did the same thing when it was pulling air from the back/bottom of the cylinder.

EX lvr
03-05-2007, 04:23 PM
yea i agree with twiles, i would check for air leaks

banchee dave
03-05-2007, 05:34 PM
did you pull the carbs completely off? could you possibly have put the slides in backwords? like everyone said, check for air leaks, even around the carb caps. did you reinstall the choke cross-over tube? thats about all I think, just double check everything and you should be able to solve it.

TWILES
03-05-2007, 06:15 PM