PDA

View Full Version : Top End

ctay61983
03-01-2007, 07:05 PM
I am new to two strokes and I am fixing to buy a banshee to just plain haul *****....

I am always hearing people talking about "having the top end rebuilt" and "needs top end rebuilt"

What all does this consist of??? And is it a huge deal????

How often does it need to be done???

robjohn74
03-01-2007, 07:25 PM
well i had 34mm carbs ,k&n fmf full,ported cages and i could run a 5.6 in 300ft at 67 mph.... i could beat all the new four strokes with k&n and full exuast and cams....and i had my shee for 3or4 years and never had to change anything ..just keep up the oil changes and pluges..............

banshee84
03-01-2007, 08:12 PM
Originally posted by ctay61983
I am new to two strokes and I am fixing to buy a banshee to just plain haul *****....

I am always hearing people talking about "having the top end rebuilt" and "needs top end rebuilt"

What all does this consist of??? And is it a huge deal????

How often does it need to be done???

A new top end consist of new pistons and rings. You can get the kit for a banshee for around $130 sometimes cheaper.

You should also buy a top end gasket kit $25

the amount of hours you can get out of one all depends on how clean you keeping dirt out of the engine, how you ride the bike and the oil/ ratio you use

ctay61983
03-02-2007, 06:18 AM
Cool....thanks for the replies....I have heard such mixed opinions about banshee's that I don't know what to believe...

Some people say they need a lot of work and are expense

when others say they are cheap to fix....

Guess I will just have to find out myself...

ohsobad_chevy
03-02-2007, 07:35 AM
You will not only need a new piston, rings and new gaskets, but you will need to hone your cylinder to ensure proper ring set. You can find machine shops to do it for pretty cheap. :cool:

Keep in mind that this only should take place every 175-200 hours, if well maintened during that time.

250r4life
03-04-2007, 12:27 PM