PDA

View Full Version : installed 450r carb GOT PROBLEMS!!!

hondaracer57
02-12-2007, 07:43 PM
Im sure this isant a huge problem for yins but im not very good at jetting..ight i installed my carb today every think went well even with first start up... well i fired it up sounded good idled alittle low so i turned the idle up alittle then i waited like 5min to let it warm up a bit then hit the gas and it boged alittle waited acouple more minutes and hit the gas again, it didnt bog as bad but it still did..my jets were 178K main and stock pilot jet im not sure what notch the needle is on but it came off an stock 450 so im guessing its stock and 2 1/2 turns on the A/F screw....so then i though it was too rich so i put a 172K main and everything else the same and it seemed to get alittle worse so then i tried a 170K main and it ran really bad as so as u touched the gas it wanted to die and backfired outa the carb...so i though maybe it was a leak in the intake boot i tried sprayin WD-40 by it and it didnt do anything i have started fluid but i wasnt really sure if i should u it so i didnt...so my question is what am i doin wrong here am i still to high on the main jet or u think i have too move my needle or what lol cause im clueless and im hopein to get it done tommorrow cause we are suppose to get like 14in of snow so i wanna go play alittle...
Thanx in advanced.....

by the way its like 25 degrees here and i like in pa and i think its around 2000ft above sea level....

400eXr1d3rZ
02-12-2007, 07:44 PM
What color was your plug?

hondaracer57
02-12-2007, 07:53 PM
damn lol thats the one thing i forgot too check...ill have too put my new plug in and check it tommorrow...

quadracer505
02-12-2007, 08:04 PM