PDA

View Full Version : 400ex is knocking.can u help

crewworrior
02-11-2007, 05:45 PM
my friend has a 99 400ex that just started knocking and smoking all at once, does anyone know what this might be, it hasn't lost any power ,and the knock sounds like its coming from the bottom end, and theres oil coming out of the pipe. if anyone can help i would greatly appreciate it.
thanks

400eXr1d3rZ
02-11-2007, 07:38 PM
Is it burning oil? Bluish Purple smoke?

crewworrior
02-11-2007, 07:59 PM
yea its blue smells like its burning oil

400eXr1d3rZ
02-11-2007, 08:45 PM
Replace valve seals.

flauge
02-12-2007, 01:14 AM
Im no expert but ive always heard the knocking could be from a worn rod or crank bearing... sorry man:scary:

250X_project
02-12-2007, 01:02 PM
Yeah, You deffinitely have more trouble than valve seals. A knock from the bottom end is probably the main bearings on your crank. It could also be the needle bearings in the bottom end of the rod on the crank pin. Also if it's not the BOTTOM, bottom than it could be exessive piston to cylinder clearance. This would also cause oil burning. Run a compression test to see how worn the rings, valves, and head gasket is.

Let us know what you get for a reading.

Does it get hotter than usual?

crewworrior
02-12-2007, 09:25 PM
i dont have a compression guage but ill try to get one,i kinda thought it might be the crank bearings myself but i wanted to get some more opinions.the head gasket looks like its leaking and the intake boot that connects the carb to the cylinder is busted too.i think were just gonna tear the whole engine down and go through it. it doesnt seem to be running hot,and has plenty of power. thanks for the help and let me know what you think.

crewworrior
02-12-2007, 09:27 PM
Originally posted by 250X_project