PDA

View Full Version : Got attacked by a guy with a shovel at work

HB416EX
02-02-2007, 01:29 PM
I repossess cars for a living and sometimes people get pissed off.Well the guy(6'2 280) comes out of his trailer(he lives in a trailer park)yelling and screaming that I'm not taking his car.I try to calm him down but he is getting madder then he grabs a shovel.We wrestle(standing) over the shovel I grab it in the middle of the handle and try to twist it out of his hands.I was stronger than him and when I twisted it the shovel hit him in the head(not on purpose).He starts bleeding and throwns a punch at me.I move,he misses I throw a right straight to his chin stun him good then get his back and choked him unconscience.

Well the police come and say they are going to arrest me for assault.They don't believe my story:confused: They basically thought that I attacked him.It makes no sense to me I was just doing my job HE grabbed the shovel and I defended myself.I did not get arrested but they say he had 6 months to file charges if he wants.What do you guys think will happpen?

spent21
02-02-2007, 01:35 PM
as you well know, repossession is a huge grey area. you ARE stealing his property...
what will happen? that really depends on if the guy is a dick. he could realize that you were just doing your job and that his vehicle was getting reposessed one way or the other. then again, he might decide to 'stick it to the man' and go after whatever he can. after all, he IS in a financial bind, otherwise you wouldn't have been there in the first place.

HB416EX
02-02-2007, 01:38 PM
Originally posted by spent21
as you well know, repossession is a huge grey area. you ARE stealing his property...