PDA

View Full Version : Is it normal? 310R

4LEAFCLOVER
02-01-2007, 07:44 PM
Is it normal for the 2 strokes to leak the gas/oil mixture out of the pipe where it connects under the rear fender? I just bought this 310R and I'm new to the 2stroke life? Didn't know if anyone else experiences this or not.

250Renvy
02-01-2007, 08:14 PM
My experience is that when you are running really rich you will get a lot of oil spatter out of all connections. I had a completely stock 86 with fmf pipe and the guy who had it before me ran it with a 20:1 ratio and there was oil sprayed at the motor and the pipe/silencer connection.

I'd probably lean it out abit depending on what your mix is and if that doesn't help maybe someone else has some advice.

wilkin250r
02-01-2007, 08:36 PM
Yes and no.

It's not normal for it to leak a LOT. If you're spraying and dripping everywhere, you have a problem.

However, they don't call them "2-smokes" for nothing. They burn oil, and it doesn't always get a complete burn. If you have an exhaust leak at ANY spot, it's going to get oily and dirty.

However, you shouldn't have an exhaust leak at that connection. Ideally, you shouldn't have an exhaust leak at ANY connection. Many people use a little copper silicone at the joints. Just don't use so much that it squishes out everywhere, or squishes out inside the pipe.

And like mentioned above, you might want to check your jetting.

250r4life
02-02-2007, 12:00 AM
whoa... wilkin.. havent seen a post of yours in a long time... where you been?

4LEAFCLOVER
02-02-2007, 04:04 AM