PDA

View Full Version : financing a quad

sakirocket28
01-28-2007, 05:15 PM
Ok, iv got a friend who baught a 06' 450r back in november, and he's been making monthly payments on it. Last night he wrecked his new SRT-4 and now he's debating on whether he will be able to handle the payments or not. I want the quad, and i was thinking about adopting the payments till its paid off. What do you guys think? he's been paying $175 a month and has alittle over 5k to pay off. From anyone who is or has dealed with financing a wheeler, would this be a good idea? sound like a good deal? BTW, it only has like 10 hours on it, practically new.

thanks in advance!

HB416EX
01-28-2007, 06:23 PM
I repossess for a living and what 99% of the time happens is the "friend" takes your money and doesn't make the payments.Then the "friend" usually tells the bank where the bike is to save his ***.Since you have no legal rights there is nothing you can do,I've seen it happpen countless times.I think it is always best to get your own financing and build your credit instead of his.

YZ400EX
01-28-2007, 07:46 PM
$175 a month is a lot on a loan for a quad:eek: ..He must have really high interest or a very short term on the loan..

bwamos
01-29-2007, 08:53 AM
Umm.. not really.

$6000 / 36mo @ 7% APR = $185

$49/mo = a creditcard scam that's gonna slam you at the end of the initial period.

That being said.. your best bet is to get a loan for $5000 (if the quad is worth that much), and you'll probably both have to meet with the creditor to transfer the title / lien information.

400exrider707
01-29-2007, 09:19 AM
Originally posted by bwamos
Umm.. not really.

$49/mo = a creditcard scam that's gonna slam you at the end of the initial period.

That being said.. your best bet is to get a loan for $5000 (if the quad is worth that much), and you'll probably both have to meet with the creditor to transfer the title / lien information.

Yeah but who buys a $6000 quad and doesn't put anything down?