PDA

View Full Version : tires

suzukigirl
01-20-2007, 06:33 PM
right now i have stock tires on my z-400...i race mx and have heard that it is better to have smaller tires...i was thinking about getting 18s for the back and 20s for the front...probably holeshots....is this a good idea and will it make that much of a difference(i'm still a beginner and i'm not really outriding the quad)

mx1791
01-20-2007, 07:30 PM
it will lower the quad a tad, and holeshots hook up good, im sure you'll like them, and imo there worth it

05Z400rdr
01-20-2007, 07:49 PM
yeah it is good. last season my first race, my first moto i did with 20'' rears and 22'' fronts...i could do every jump except 1. 2nd moto i did with the same 22'' fronts, but i put my 18'' rears on, and surprisingly enough, it gave me a noticable amount of more power and also gave me the perfect amount to make that jump. smaller tires are better for cornering too. the disadvantage of smaller tires: your top speed will have a big decrease, which u dont want for the holeshot. so if u get smaller tires, i suggest changing the gearing, that way u wont loose your speed, but u wont gain much, if any, power too. but you will have better handling... hope this helps:)

Landon

05Z400rdr
01-20-2007, 07:50 PM
also forgot to say, ull love the holeshots. for mx i used the mxr6's and loved them. i recommend the mxr6's or the sx's for motocross. hope this helps

Landon:)

yellowzo3
01-20-2007, 07:57 PM