PDA

View Full Version : building a cross country R

the glassman
01-16-2007, 08:05 PM
Ok ive decided to keep my r and set it up for cross country racing.
Ive been lookin around on hear for a while and keep reading about all these mods like cr500 rear links, cr 250 parts, no link rears and other such mods im not sure what i should do to mine.

im not sure what i need to start out with but my first purchase will be suspension ofcourse.

I know that if i throw a bunch of cash at the bike i can just buy a bunch of parts and go from there, but money is not that plentifull around here so anything i can adapt or modify would be prefured

Im not a pro level rider by any means so i cant justify spending 10,000 dollars on a mean a@@ quad yet, im just a 36 year old beginer.:rolleyes: :)

anythoughts....eddie

250r rider 88
01-16-2007, 08:44 PM
low to mid range pipe i recommend ESR TRX 6 i have one excellent provides an awesome lowend mid range powerband with tons of power and torque on hand...xc tires..holeshot hds and gnccs are nice havent used them myself but riding buddies have and swear by them over the last year i noticed i wish i had more fuel capacity for woods so im upgrading to a clarke 4 gallon tnak this winter, porting on your next rebuild talk to c-leigh on this site..skid plates are a must, and some handgaurds always check ebay for parts just my 2 cents

CorvetteZ06
01-16-2007, 09:15 PM
I agree with 250r rider 88, a nice low end exhaust, some good xc tires all around, and skid plates are a must, also some differnt gearing is an easy and cheap way to get more low to mid power. Then get your self some good shocks. after that, then get your motor ported. its better to have a R that handles well and gets good traction, then you can work on adding the horse power. after all, whats the use of a fast motor when the quad can't handle it. Goodluck!:D

Rich250RRacer
01-16-2007, 10:00 PM