PDA

View Full Version : Learning to Jump

09-24-2002, 09:31 AM
I am fairly new to the 4-wheeler sport, and have a membership to a local Sand track. I have ridden dirtbikes all my life, and street bikes since 16, but I am having a bit of difficulty with jumping the new honda! Can someone give me some tips on how to set up for a jump, and landing a jump? Do you stand? Do you sit?

DarkStarRacing
09-24-2002, 09:38 AM
start small and practice table tops before you start jumping gaps, once you start clearing the table topss move up to the doubles, you definetly want to be standing when you jump and at a good postion try not to lean when your climbing the face of the jump...example, i see people lean foward as there climbing up a jump and it throws them into a nose dive when they come off the lip. if this happens where you begin to feel like your nose diving hit the gas hard, it will bring you up a bit. make sure you don't let off the gas untill your completly off the lip of the jump ir you will nose dive, some guys keep a constant throttle and when you about to land give it some gas so you stiffen the rear shock and won't bottom out as easily..these are just my opinions there may be a better way to jump but this is basically what i do..good luck and practice makes permanace

09-24-2002, 09:42 AM
Thanks, I have been attacking table tops, and having some success. My biggest issue is with the landing. Sometimes its hard and my feet almost slip off! I managed to clear a double - although it was a small one. I haven't had any issues let with diving, as I'm always on the gas during the launch. A couple times I landed on the back tires though!

YLW400
09-24-2002, 10:24 AM
If your feet are slipping off, you need to invest in some nerf bars. ASAP. You leg under the tire of a running 400EX could be bad:eek:

DarkStarRacing
09-24-2002, 10:45 AM
Originally posted by YLW400
Your leg under the tire of a running 400EX could be bad:eek:

yea thats tru :D

09-24-2002, 10:52 AM