PDA

View Full Version : Cam break in?

danniheyj82888
01-03-2007, 05:14 PM
Am I supposed to go through another break in period on my 450r after installing HRC kit? I have read both, that I do and do not need to. I was thinking just take it a bit easy for the first couple rides.. or not?

keller45
01-03-2007, 06:04 PM
That's pretty much what I did. Have you rode it yet?

Does the HRC with the HMF give a big bump in bottom end?

trx450jason
01-03-2007, 06:05 PM
i have no experience with this but i've heard you need to vary the rpm's when breaking a cam in.. but i could be wrong

danniheyj82888
01-03-2007, 07:29 PM
Originally posted by keller45
That's pretty much what I did. Have you rode it yet?

Does the HRC with the HMF give a big bump in bottom end?

No. I havent finished installing it yet.. but I will let you know how I like it. I will be riding it on Saturday so Ill update anyone who wants to know.

Dave400ex
01-03-2007, 08:03 PM
When I put my Baldwin XC cam in I was told to get it through a heat cycle and then let er rip.

lumi
01-03-2007, 08:49 PM
hey danny good luck with the install...

i know most cam manufactures come with instructions to do a cam break in..... hotcams does i know that... there procedure is to not go high rpm or dont lug it and let it idle for a long time to vary rpms but no full throttle and do like 2 heat cycle.... ride it for 20 minutes and than let it cool for 30 to a hour and than do the same again.. let it cool and than i think to change the oil and than let her ripp.. most people let her ripp anyways so...i wouldnt see anything needing to break in , in a bad way....

but go to hotcams site to get more info...

imo the important thing is to mix assembly lube and oil in a small cup and to lube the lobes and rollers on the cam assembly well and the buckets on the outside and the tower.... this is important..

i kno the hrc manual doesnt say anything about a break in.