PDA

View Full Version : rebuilds vs. aftermarket standard travel ?

ny300exrider
01-01-2007, 02:53 PM
thinking about getting myself some better front shocks for my 05 450r now that im planning on doing some traveling to new and better riding spots. im not a pro racer, just a trail and sandpit rider getting into some minor mx riding. i came across these (http://www.danacreechracing.com/categories/products/product-114.html)pep's and im wondering what exactly are they. now ive been around quads for 5+ years and know about peps great reputation however, i havnt seen a pair for this cheap. another, more expensive option is the standard travel elka triple rates which are somewhere around $750. it would take me longer to save up for these and if those peps could compare to the elkas, it seems like theyre an awsome choice. lastly, i was also thinking about getting my stock 450r shocks rebuilt. i understand that the rebuilds do a great job from what i hear and itd be nice to have the rear done at the same time. however if it is worth the extra money to get the standard travel elkas or peps, i will most likely do that.

lemme know what your guys opinion on this is. first of all, are those peps i posted good stuff and comparable to the elkas? second, is it worth going aftermarket or should i stick with the rebuilds?

thanks alot and sorry for the repetitive topic.

F-16Guy
01-01-2007, 06:53 PM
This is my $0.02:
Yeah, the PEPs are probably pretty sweet shocks, but they are non-adjustable. Also, from what I've read, the real problem with the 450's is the rear shock, not the fronts. For another $150, you can have the fully adjustable fronts rebuilt and set up exactly how you want it, and you'll also get the back re-valved and re-sprung along with a new rear link, which will give you a much plusher ride with little or no bucking in the choppy stuff. That sounds like a much better idea to me for a recreational and local-level MX rider.

pudamac12
01-01-2007, 08:14 PM