PDA

View Full Version : Just bought 440ex/what to look for

sonny1979
12-22-2006, 02:07 PM
Hello all! I just bought a used 440ex(big bore). I previously had owned a 01 300ex that I sold. I am pretty new to quads in general, and have caught the sikness. I would like to know anything to look for in regards to warning signs or problems with this quad. From what I know it has a je piston in it. It has an aftermarket oil reservoir and cooler. One thing I've noticed when riding it is when I am going up a steep incline, the motor whines, as if it is struggling. It does not happen on a regular basis, but every so often. I am pretty sure it is the motor that is making the noise, though. The whine sounds high pitched, as if metal to metal contact is being made. I have had it topped out in 5th gear, and have been to the trails 4 times since I bought it. Besides the whining, the motor feels strong. I am going to change the oil and filter, and use amsoil for the replacement.

What are anyone's thought on this?

Also, does anyone have any advice on a good setup for the 440? It has a k&n filter, the airbox lid has holes drilled in it.(Am going to remove it, and put a prefilter on it,possibly outerwears). I am pondering a fcr 40mm carb(read it was better than the edelbrock,although harder to dial in). Should I get an aftermarket cdi box? It has a pro circuit t-4 slip on. I plan to go with a yoshi competition full exhaust(possibly titanium). I plan on spending 2000+ on it. I would like to know some thoughts on the best mods for my money(hard earned). I have done some research myself(very time consuming).