PDA

View Full Version : first ride on my yfz, lots of questions

bradley300
12-18-2006, 09:08 AM
first of all, its an 06. HMF carbon slip on, GThunder linkage and stock revalved shocks, ATV fourplay +1 a-arms, scotts dampner, flexbars, hipers, tireballs. i love it!

1. on the blaster, i could go full speed ahead and come to a sharp turn. pull in the clutch, hit all the brakes and downshift. during this the motor would stall, but as soon as i let the clutch back out, it would come back to life and i could take off. the yfz will also stall, but letting the clutch back out wont bring it back to life. why is this and can i fix it?

2. how many tireballs should i run in the front, and back at what pressure?

3. this thing feels like its going to rattle my teeth out, and it doesnt get much better at any rpm range. is that normal?

4. i have already had a battery die. died 15 mintues after i started riding. maybe from stalling and re-starting so much.
part A- even starting and stopping so much, wouldnt the quad re-charge the battery while it was running? or could the battery just be that far gone? i got pull started for the next few hours, but the quad would never do anything with the button again. not even a click, which makes me think maybe its not charging.
part B- which wire do i need to check to see if the charging system is working? and how many ohms should that wire be?

what else could be the problem? BTW, it does not have headlights, but i did notice the headlight switch had been on, probably all night sitting in the garage.

5. whatever the answer to problem #4 is, i need a new battery. is there a battery from a different model machine that people are using, or does the yfz battery do alright? any brands to stay away from or look for?

6. how much sag are you guys running in the rear? (mine has the GTT suspension conversion) and how much ride height in the front?