PDA

View Full Version : which airfilter????

Pur Pony
09-18-2002, 07:54 AM
I own a 01 400ex with a yoshi header and pipe. I plan on getting an aluminum airbox with no lid and jetting it.

I have been planning on getting a K&N filter before/when i jet it.

I talked to the dealer yesterday and he does not recommend a K&n.... at least not without the outer wear cover.... he said that K&Ns let to much dust and dirt into the engine.

I live in CT and ride mostly trails... but the summers have been so dry here that there has been alot of dust.....

Should I stay away from K&N and get either a twin air or uni filter???? are those better then K&N at keeping dust/dirt out?? I am just looking for a better flowing airfilt to combine with my pipe so I can jet it.

or should I just stay with a stock filter?

crowdedhead
09-18-2002, 08:02 AM
go with the k&n

i run the k&n without the outer filter. i've been using k&n filters on my bikes for the past four years and have never had a problem.

but if you are worried about riding through very dusty conditions put the outer filter on and go.

300EX KING
09-18-2002, 10:03 AM
I live in connecticut too, and the trails are real dusty, i have a k&n on my quad and i have my air box lid off. i bought the outerwears filter cover and it seems to work alright. i think you should set up yor 400 the same.

Pur Pony
09-18-2002, 11:07 AM
300EX KING - where in CT are you from? you ride a 300ex?

Ensign
09-18-2002, 11:24 AM
Might want to check out No Toil (http://www.notoil.com/) filters and oil. I had tried these on dirt bikes and liked them, so I just bought two for my 400ex. All their stuff (filter oil and cleaner) is biodegradable, so you can wash your filters right in the sink. They say you can use a laundry washer, but I know my wife would kill me if I tried that. I'll stick with the laundry tub though. It's nice to not have to worry about dumping the old oil and dirt.
---
Brandon

z400ex
09-18-2002, 12:08 PM