PDA

View Full Version : Starter / battery woes?

2848crv
12-11-2006, 09:05 PM
Searched for an answer, but found none... Our 2003 400EX (recently purchased) has starting / battery problems. If it doesn't start immediately, the starter cranks slower and slower. I replaced the battery, no difference. All cables check OK, as in full voltage gets to the solenoid, and out of it. I removed the starter motor and cleaned it, there was a fair amount of black gunk in it. I'm a marginally skilled mechanic, and certainly not an electrics guy. It then started right up, and did well for one outing, but this weekend it did fine one day, and wouldn't start the second day. It acts like there is something binding the starting / cranking process. Doesn't take more than three or four tries to wear the battery down. At $285 for a new starter, I would really rather fix whatever is wrong without buying a new one. Especially if it is something other than the starter motor... When it does start, it runs great.

Any suggestions? By the way, my neighbor has an identical 400Ex that I can borrow parts from to troubleshoot mine.

Thanks!

Ed

jrafter
12-12-2006, 12:03 AM
www.servicehonda.com they might have what you need to rebuild it

jrafter
12-12-2006, 12:07 AM
or you can get a rebuilt 1 for $119 www.mfgsupply.com

vze2hnvz
12-12-2006, 06:06 AM
http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?from=R40&satitle=400ex+starter

Gotta love ebay......

bansheemorphine
12-12-2006, 09:07 AM
it could be the starter clutch i think it is called it engages the starter and is down inside the left case these screw up alot with high comp pistons

johnsls
12-12-2006, 09:33 AM
IF you do need a starter,, I've bought some stuff from GDH racing with no problems. I have an 02' and have no problems with mine. - Item number: 160060663227

If the starter was bad,, it wouldn't start it would it? Bad is bad right?