PDA

View Full Version : Clutch not engaging after engine rebuild

sdyme1995
12-07-2006, 11:43 AM
I just got done rebuilding my engine. I had to replace the crank bearings. This is my first time doing one. I am a transmission mech so I am familiar with this stuff and I had the repair book.

It runs fine, I let it idle in nuetral varying the rpm's for two heat cycles then went to ride down the street and i pulled in the clutch and put it in gear and ommphh it stalled. Tried to kick it over with the clutch pulled and it still was engaged. Pulled the cable off the lift spindle and turned it by itself and tried spinning axle and still engaged.

Any ideas before I pull the side cover.:(

C-LEIGH RACING
12-07-2006, 12:06 PM
You make sure everything was lined up when putting the clutch together.
Sometimes dry clutch plates will stick to each other & cause that. I've seen bikes that have sat for awhile & the clutch be stuck the first time cranking it, once oil got between the plates, it was ok after that.
You do know when the trans shaft turns it spins the inner clutch hub & the metal plates between the fiber plates, right. If either of the metal plates are warpped it will drag the fiber & be kinda locked up.

I beleave I would pull the cover back off anyways just to check everything out.
Neil

sdyme1995
12-07-2006, 05:27 PM
Hey thanks for the tips. You are one of the few on here that seem to give good help and not just smart remarks.

I kinda figured I would need to pull the case. Anyone else with some tips or things you have ran into in the past?

deathman53
12-07-2006, 05:34 PM
Do you have the cluth lifter ball bearing in? I have put together a motor and forgot to put in the ball bearing for the lifter.

sdyme1995
12-07-2006, 08:48 PM
yea i have the ball bearing in because i almost forgot when i put it together, so i know it is in there.

How tight do you tighten the clutch springs, there was no spec in the manual.

wilkin250r
12-07-2006, 09:21 PM