PDA

View Full Version : rejetting 250R carb question?

garrettagr
12-06-2006, 08:38 PM
I have a qestion that is probably really east for many of you but i am new to the 250R realm of quads. I have a 86 250R with a 36mm esr carb, fmf glod series fatty and power core silencer. Also have a K&N filter is an aluminum airbox. My quad has almost no bottom end at all and then his the band hard but way up high in the revs. Could this be remedied with jetting or maybe a cool head with a higher compression dome. What are you running with jetting if you have a similar set up. Any help would be appreciated.

wilkin250r
12-07-2006, 03:05 AM
The power hit generally has very little to do with jetting, unless the jetting is WAY off and you have no power at all.

But if you are hitting the powerband, it's a pretty sure bet the jetting is at least close, and your problem is somewhere else.

Now, the 2-stroke won't have a whole lot of power in the low end anyways. For example, you'll never be able to pop a wheelie without revving the snot out of it and being in the meat of the powerband. But when the power does hit, the rear wheels should break traction on gravel and throw a roost, that's just the way the 2-stroke power works. It's like a light-switch, one second you've got no power, and the next second you're struggling to hold on.

From your description, it's very difficult to tell whether you have a problem or not. The power shouldn't be hitting WAY up high, that wouldn't be normal. But if you are used to 4-stroke, you might describe it that way, even though it's perfectly normal.

My best advice would be to try to find somebody with a 250r that you KNOW is normal, and compare.

garrettagr
12-07-2006, 10:06 AM