PDA

View Full Version : long travel?

eadwiggi
12-05-2006, 11:40 AM
i'm fairly new to the world of quads. i bought an '05 450r with houser +2's and a +2 swing arm. it has elka shocks with dual linkage but only the rear shock is adjustable. i sent them back to elka to be serviced and revalved for mx 160lbs. got a ton of questions. answer one or answer them all.

is converting to long travel set up worth it? what are the benefits? how much more travel do you get?

does the +2 swing arm help or not? I don't see anyone on here with an extended swing arm.

my shocks are pretty stiff and beat the hell out of me through anything choppy. are steering dampners worth the money?

THanks,

yellowzo3
12-05-2006, 12:47 PM
long travel isnt worth it if your just starting to ride and get into mx. if you are progressing in the sport and are doing fairly well then long travel would be a good upgrade and it would help soak up some of the harder hits. or you could get longtravel from the start instead of switching over. but since you already have the houser/elka setup id stick with it. those are quality parts so you shouldnt have to worry. a +2 swingarm would help keep your front end on the ground better, and is good for duning also. since your getting your shocks rebuilt to your specs that should take away most of the choppiness and bad handling. steering stabilizers are worth it from what people have said. i dont have one myself, but i do like my antivibe stem and notice a difference in that.

400exrider707
12-05-2006, 01:11 PM