PDA

View Full Version : A-arms / Shocks Help!

450R22
12-04-2006, 02:45 PM
I am pretty new to the 450r, in the past I raced a 89' 250r mx and harescrambles stock other than GT Thunder engine mods.
I plan to have GT Thunder revalve and repring my shocks, but I do not understand the importance of different A-Arms. Is this just for handling or does it play a factor in the suspension also.
Any help from you guys running aftermarket set-up's would be appreciated ;)

ATVRacer19
12-04-2006, 04:36 PM
if you want to race and do well, I deffenately sugest aftermarket a-arms. The main reason they help out is stability and control. i rode my stock 06 and it was a little tipy in some of the bigger and tight corners. The wide stanse DEFFENATELY helps alot.
Also,
if you keep stock suspension with the longer a-arms it makes the suspension softer. if you go with long travle a-arms i would recommend a pair of long travle shocks. yet, i rode with my stock shocks for 3 races and they held up very well.

i hope that helps you out!

TWILES
12-04-2006, 06:07 PM