PDA

View Full Version : what do you think about 87 250trx..REbuilding

all4jesus1122
12-03-2006, 11:59 PM
hello, i just bought a used Honda 87 250TRX, for 500$ it was raced i. it has been upgraded alot

NEW
+3+1 American Star racing front end with 400EX Shock conversion,
extened swing arm with +4 Durablue Axle, Renthal handle bars

i think it has been bored because there is new seals. or at least was reabuilt once.
it runs rough

My question is what should i upgrade and put into this. i have been riding my whole life, but i am new to working on bikes myself but love to do it and can.

I want to know what carbs, exhaust, enigne parts, performance parts ect. should i put in to it

should i rebuild the whole engine.

I do alot of trail riding, and like to get up and go.

how much do you think these up grades that came with it cost total.

do you think i should just get a 400ex or rebuild this.

Tri-valleyracin
12-04-2006, 04:10 AM
for $500 its hard to pass up. buy it make it look good sell it and buy a 400ex.

lee37vernon
12-04-2006, 07:00 AM
isn't that a 250 x ?? looks 4 stroke to me ! look at the exhaust ..

your probably asking in the wrong section but i'd say tidy it and sell it for what you want if you have something in mind .. :)

all4jesus1122
12-04-2006, 09:45 AM
i want to make this the fastest 250x out there

can i bore it and what would be a good bore and does boring it make it more supecteable to cease

what parts should i add on to it

i already have a t-4 pro circuit exhaust

would a keihin 38 millileter be good.. with that ehaust

what piston should i use...what compression

Dan229
12-04-2006, 10:37 AM
You can spend a ton of cash on that thing and do all sorts of things to it. There are guys on here that have 7-10K in their bikes. It just depends on what you want to do. To make it the fastest 250X out there you are gonna have to spend a lot of cash