PDA

View Full Version : Tire Setup

thump4863
12-03-2006, 08:36 PM
I am setting up a TT quad and am curious about tires - What are the different compounds used for - softer for smoother tracks? Is there a tire thats good for all conditions? I'm just starting out so I would like to get a good all around tire. What size tires should I get?

Also on rims - I'm getting some hipers - I'm planning on getting 10 X 5 4:1 offset for the front but I'm not sure what size to get for the rear - either a 10X9 3:6 offset or a 10X10 4:6 offset - what would you recommend? or does it matter?

Thanks for helping a newbie out!

TTZ450
12-08-2006, 08:13 PM
I would run some ITP or DOUGLAS aluminum wheels, But if you are not going to worry about the weight run the hipers. You would want to run american racers size 18x10x10 on a 10x8 wheel. Beadlock wheels are not really needed since you shouldnt run less than 10 lbs of air unless it is extreme conditions at the track.. Also shorten your swingarm 1 1/2" for traction and I would suggest getting some good adjustable aftermarket shocks.. Use your shocks to load 10lbs on the right rear.. The LTR is very heavy compared to a YFZ or a 450R so do whatever you can to lighten your LTR up... You need nerfs, front bumper, sway bar, kill switch, 50" width, 8" numbers with appropriate background just to get started and be legal....

thump4863
12-08-2006, 09:46 PM
I have everything i need component wise I just need to get the tire thing down - like componds to tire pressure to tire sizes etc

TTZ450
12-09-2006, 08:03 AM
Sorry abput all the suzuki talk...LOL.. I would run American Racer 20x8x10 sd28 on the front your wheel offset will be determined by a-arm length and American Racer 18x10x10 sd33 on the rear with a 10x9 wheel.. Running a wider tire on a narrower wheel will allow for more side bite.. The harder compound rear will get enough heat just from being the drive tires....

300exQuadracer
12-10-2006, 04:56 PM