PDA

View Full Version : Don't buy from la cyclesports or suzuki-ltr450 blew up w/ 2 hours on it

noworries
11-28-2006, 03:17 PM
First let me say that I am new to quads. My neighbors got me and my wife hooked on glamis, so I researched and picked the ltr 450 for our first atv.

I bought a 2006 suzuki lt r450 from LA Cyclesports on 11/19. I took it out to Glamis for thanksgiving and on the first ride it ran terrible. It had no power--couldn't make it up hills. It was difficult to keep running, idle was rough and backfired alot. It also seemed to be really hot for the kind of riding I was doing. I am new to riding quads and ride very conservatively so I won't get hurt. My friends looked at it and said "Take it back.". So I took it back to LA Cyclesports today. They pull the spark plug and it's burned on the end and smashed. It looks like the piston was hitting the spark plug. So it's in for a major repair with less then 2-3 hours on it.

I want either a full refund or a new quad. My reasoning is this:
1) Any atv/bike that has a catastrophic failure right from the factory will be troublesome for the entire life of the atv.
2) Parts that may not have completely failed have been stressed and fatigued and will fail prematurely, likely after the 6 month warranty has expired.
3) I paid for a new atv. I never got to ride a new atv--With a catastrohpic failure with only a few hours on it, I am really getting a rebuilt atv.

I called Suzuki. They said they can't force the dealer to do anything. The dealer won't refund or replace the bike, because they'll make more money by charging suzuki to fix it.

theTman
11-28-2006, 03:32 PM
did you break it in properly?

rob-u/21
11-28-2006, 04:49 PM
Sorry for your misfortune. I also bought my LTR from LA Cyclesports and have not had any problems. Well I did blow my engine (piston and rings) but that is a whole other story. I put a baja 500 a lot of prerunning and 990 miles of this years baja 1000 before my top end gave up.

DEAL