PDA

View Full Version : raptor 660 clutch problems

c-r6
11-24-2006, 09:56 PM
I have a 03 660, with 686, cam, yoshi, and some other bolt ons. I am on my third barnet clutch and i need to replace it again, it already has barnett clutch, steels and springs, and it still wears them out after about 20 hours of riding, what is a good replacement clutch? (GYTR, EBC)

hskers82
11-25-2006, 06:11 AM
Get the GYTR.I have been running one on my bike for almost 2 years trouble free

None2Slow
11-29-2006, 07:46 PM
It sounds like the clutch is not completely engaging and allowing some slipping. Maybe not enough to notice, but just enough to wear it out under acceleration. Just a thought.

Colby@C&DRacing
11-30-2006, 08:51 AM
Check your free play. and the cltuch arms at the case make sure they are correct. The raptor has problems with some aftermarket clutch levers the leverage ratio is off and doesn't pull far enough causing you to adjust it improperly.

c-r6
11-30-2006, 11:26 AM
i know that the clutch is engaging properly, when it is let out it has slack in the cable. the clutch just dosent last, it is very noticable once it gets hot, it sound like it spins the tires when at throttle but just slips. the barnett works great at first but if i ride it hard once it gets hot and starts slipping it just gets worse.

fastfox
01-06-2007, 07:23 PM
gear it down and take the load off the clutch

mxraptor149
01-10-2007, 07:40 AM
All very good observations, and good suggestions. I run just the GYTR clutch pack with stock hub, pressure plate, etc. It works great, but I plan on experimenting with Hinson components this season only because they are a sponsor.