PDA

View Full Version : 2000 400ex backfires through carb/won't idle

ontario400ex
11-22-2006, 07:24 PM
Bought a 2000 400ex, all stock.

I've been through the search feature, one by one, and I've checked/fixed/replaced things based on those suggestions. I'm an auto-mechanic by trade, and I've had 2 stroke bikes and jetski's throughout my younger years.

Anyhoo...
Bike ran fine when I demo'd it before buying, but when I got it off the back of my pickup truck, it would barely start, and then it wouldn't idle without playing with the choke, and then it would backfire through the carb. It backfired so badly that it blew the boot apart that bolts to the cylinder head.

None the less, I replaced that, thinking maybe it had been loose and allowing air in (leaning it out), no different. Still backfires and won't idle.

I took the float bowl off of the bottom of the carb and blew carb cleaner and air through each of the jets. I took the jets out next and made sure they were clean. My pilot jet read something like 138, and the main was 148. I'm not 100% on those numbers, more like 98%. Jets were clean so I reassembled the carb. No difference. It still sputters, backfires, and won't idle unless I play with the choke, and even then it will still die after 2 or 3 seconds.

Pulled the sparkplug.... CAKED with black powdery carbon, and looks like had been in there since... well, quite a long time. I replaced the plug and gapped it to .035 (as per the NGK catalog), Still sputters, coughs, backfires, etc.

I removed the plug again to check the spark. It looks faint compared to what I'm used to, but it sparks consistantly. The end of the spark plug after 30seconds of sputtery running is slightly black and runny looking. i.e. severely rich)