PDA

View Full Version : will i have problems with a 686 piston?

rubnmenon
11-21-2006, 10:20 PM
hey i need some help, today i wanted to buy a 686 piston 11:1 compression for my 2005 raptor and i mecanic that i know told me that if i put that piston that my crank wouldnt make it and i would have soon have problems with my motor.......

anyone that has a 686 can tell me if that true?

hskers82
11-22-2006, 05:04 AM
I have seen some connecting rod failures but I think they were on drag bikes.I have been running a JE 12 to 1 686(102mm) piston for close to 2 years with no problems

rubnmenon
11-22-2006, 08:03 AM
where can i find that part (connecting rod failures)?
and do u use ur raptor a lot?

hskers82
11-22-2006, 11:59 AM
I have been racing and trail riding mine for almost 2 years on the stock connecting rod/ no problems at all.
Go onto Bluetraxx.com and get on the raptor forum on there.It is mostly a yamaha website so there is alot of knowledge on the problems/engine failures with raptors

rubnmenon
11-23-2006, 12:40 PM
thanx for the info...... i`ll go with a 11:1 piston then

Katz_2003
11-30-2006, 05:05 PM
I used to have a 11:1 weisco piston in mine with stage 1 hot cams and sparks pipe. I think it was around 48 or so hp to the wheels and my rod broke at the oil hole at the top,rod went through my piston then the rod went down and stuck in the bottom of my cases. So my whole motor was pretty much gone except for the head and the gears. I have seen a few of these online. Once you get so much hp some will pop. Then there are others that have 60hp on stock rod and they work just fine. So its just a chance you take.

rubnmenon
11-30-2006, 05:08 PM
HOW LONG DID U USE UR MOTOR WITH THE 11:1 TILL THAT HAPPEND??

Katz_2003
12-04-2006, 12:43 PM
I think it was around 6-8 months then boom...

rubnmenon
12-04-2006, 02:12 PM
ok then i think iŽll better get a new and better crankshaft, what crankshaft would u recommend me??

hskers82
12-04-2006, 04:14 PM