PDA

View Full Version : a arm + shock advice

interceptorz28
11-20-2006, 07:18 AM
so I am new to this aftermarket a arm , shock subject. I def. want to upgrade my front shocks and need to know something about a-arms.
I do trail and woods riding and some jumping (nothing crazy yet) What would be a good set up?
+1 a arms with long travel shocks? or
+1 a arms with stock travel?

Are long travels only for MX?

or should I just pick up shocks and keep my stock a arms?

4TraxRider
11-20-2006, 08:33 AM
If your just trail riding and Rec riding everyweekend i would just get a decent set of shocks. A set of Works steelers, or Elka non rezzies would probably suit your needs fine. If you've got them money though get a set of arms, but they aren't truly needed for recreational riding. LT's arent just for MX.

interceptorz28
11-20-2006, 09:05 AM
So, what is the point of +1's? ...just more stability?

gbcap
11-20-2006, 09:49 AM
YES..purely for stability. you can get shocks for your stock arms and see if that is enough for you...if it isn't you can upgrand to +1 or +2 arms. beware that if you go too wide you won't like trails anymore and you might need to get your shocks revalved for the extra leaverage from the shocks.

interceptorz28
11-21-2006, 06:41 AM
So, what about +1 a arms with long tavel shocks? Will the long travel make the quad sit higher? Would this be a good set up?

parkers30
11-21-2006, 07:43 AM
a 'long travel' does not neccessarily add any travel just so you know. The really should be a called a 'long shock' arm and some builder do call them this. The who purpose is more shock travel to allow for more precise tuning.

a +1 LT setup would be great for xc or normal trail riding if you are willing/wanting to spend the money, but overkill for trail riding

ride height is all about where you set it and how your shocks are built

GIXXER1KR
11-21-2006, 08:38 PM