PDA

View Full Version : lt230 problems

stangnsnow2
11-17-2006, 04:07 PM
hey guys im new at this 4 wheeler thing and i got a 1987 lt230e for FREE!! i put a new clutch in it and rebuilt the carb, the problems now is that i can keep the damn thing running....i start it and it will idle for a little bit and then quite...when i give it some gas it die intsantly. the second problem is that the transmission sounds like it is engaging but it still rolls like it is in neutral...any one know what is going on here????

thanks guys,
Steve

Warrior-mx
11-17-2006, 05:38 PM
Well 1st thing your quads sounds like it has symtoms of a clogged piolet jet. Also check 4 ne air leaks jus to be safe. to test and tell if ur quad tranny is ingaged. Put it in nuetral and rev it up if it jumps forward at all or even moves u need to adjust ur clutch cable. ANd there should be no tension on clutch arm entering the case. How old is ur clutch cable?? If its realy old it might be stretched and need replacing also.

motomanmike
11-19-2006, 04:05 PM
lt230 e Does not have a manual clutch. Its an aut shift deal with the centrificul helper clutch, it has two clutches in the motor. It will roll forward in gear but usually will not be turning the crank of the engine over. The running at idle is carburator pilots for sure.

red426ex
11-19-2006, 09:33 PM