PDA

View Full Version : firefighter

honduh440
11-16-2006, 06:47 PM
been thinking about appying.... what are some pros and cons?

troyleepred719
11-16-2006, 06:57 PM
ive been a firefighter for about 3 years. IM a volunteer firefighter in NY. I am a Pump Operator?Driver, and and Emt. It all depends on the person, on whether or not your going to like it. I joined when I was 16, and am 19 now. I am up to possible become a Lt. within the next month or so.

Pros:
People- People look up to you. You are the "hero" and within the fire dept, comes a brotherhood, that can not be found anywheres else.

you become a better person, ad tend to think about others saftey without noticing.

Cons: If you have a big heart, you will pay for it. Although you help people, you will dela with emotions too. If youve ever made a call at 2am in the morning for a medical, and arrived on the scene, to do 12 minutes of CPR on a 3 year old cancer paient, with her parents right there, and knowin that she cant be saved, youll wanna drop it all. Or when you have to fight 6 hours of fire, because some guy passed out drunk, and burned his house out with a cigarette, youll think twice.

It all comes down to this, there are no real pros and cons, its all in the person. Dont exect to apply and go into the fire, or be a hero, you have months and even years of trainng in order to become that person. Youll be makin all kinds of calls, and youll see lots of stuff, and youll have to deal with it. In the end, for me its worth it, cause of the person it made me, but I,m not you, and I cant decide for you. But If you dont like, it, you can drop it too. Give it what you can, you ever know, but either way you wont regret it.

Joshua Hays
FF/EMT

LostCause439
11-17-2006, 01:07 AM
Ive been a firefighter for a lil more than 5 years, It will give ya something to do when your bored that if for sure, and also meet and help alot of people