PDA

View Full Version : what needs to be done toa 250r to fit a 450

some_dude
11-10-2006, 11:19 PM
ight new to the whole buildin a hybird and before i get way over my head with all this...
what all frame work would have to be done to a 250r frame to fit either a crf450 or yz450???
and pics would be greatly appericiated!!!

and would it be easyer to buy a already made hybird then build one... (and buy easyer, i mean cheaper:p )

oldskoolex400
11-11-2006, 11:47 AM
yz450 is an easier fit. i think a 400ex frame would work better b/c it is taller, but if you have the 250r frame already it can be done not sure exactly how tho lets see if we can get an expert opinion

some_dude
11-11-2006, 12:08 PM
so stick a yz450 in it instead......

wut would need to be done \... will the engein mounts be the same or will i have to make some new ones?

oldskoolex400
11-11-2006, 12:14 PM
im no expert on this and will probably be corrected but you will need to cut into the frame to get the motor to fit in, make new motor mounts, you will have to modify the motor or swingarm so the swingarm and motor will line up correctly i would recommend using a 400ex frame for the fact you dont have to change the frame as much

oldskoolex400
11-11-2006, 12:18 PM
oh and yes it will be alot cheaper to buy a hybrid already built than make one yourself unless you already have everything but the motor and it depends on how much aftermarket stuff you want to put on it

TampaBoy813
11-11-2006, 05:14 PM
heres a pic of my YZ426/400ex Frame

TampaBoy813
11-11-2006, 05:17 PM
Mine looked OEM b4 I sold her

TampaBoy813
11-11-2006, 05:18 PM
OEM Look

TampaBoy813
11-11-2006, 05:21 PM
400ex Boot worked for the swap

TampaBoy813
11-11-2006, 05:23 PM