PDA

View Full Version : Becoming a cop?

NikNacs67
11-06-2006, 12:05 AM
I was talking to my sister today about becoming a PI or a cop. She's taking a 4 year course of Criminal Justice and I was thinking of doing the same. I graduated last May so this would be the time to figure out what I wanted to do. I would just like to get more information about both.

wilkin250r
11-06-2006, 02:02 AM
You don't necessarily need a 4-yr degree in Criminal Justice, very few police officers have degrees. But a few classes in Criminal Justice can certainly get you in the door somewhere and allow you to go through POST (Police Officer Standard Training).

LTZ400rider
11-06-2006, 04:01 AM
i know philly cops only need police academy and 1 year living in the city. check with a local police officer and you can maybe even take a ride with him.

cop292
11-06-2006, 04:44 AM
The more education you have, the better. Most departments do not require a college degree. However, a lot of the higher paying suburban departments do. Even if you attend a program where you get an associates degree it is a plus. Before you commit to law enforcement as a career talk to several cops from different departments and get some ride alongs. Good Luck!

infantry317
11-06-2006, 06:05 AM
Think hard about it, I have a lot of respect for cops, I almost went into it after the army. But there's a lot of baggage that goes with it. I have three uncles (two were state troopers, one aunt and a buddy that are or were cops, they all have a drinking problem. You will see a lot of bad things, child abuse is the one my buddy said really gets to him.

On the other hand you can help people and hopefully not get too jaded. Just get all the facts like these guys are saying.

I-7
11-06-2006, 06:06 AM