PDA

View Full Version : What happened?

Eddiesanders250
11-05-2006, 06:23 PM
I just got my motor completely rebuilt. btm end done by neil and i put the rest together. Stock cylinder bored .100 over running thin head gasket 180 psi. I was breaking it in for half of a day then it started to idle real high... i pulled in the clutch then ibogged out and died, it made that buuurrrrrr sound. I figured it was running hot. I started it up the next day and just let it idle for a couple minutes and it cut out again. I read the plug it is a brown paper bag color, i figure its fine. What do you guys think happened? I am running this peak antifreeze and coolant for a car and mixing 50/50 with water, that might have something to do with it?

I am lost all you experts i need help
Thanks

fireburns99
11-06-2006, 11:54 AM
I am by no means an expert but heres my thought:

I can't see how the coolant would be causing this. And idling for a couple of minutes shouldn't cause it to overheat. Was the plug a consistent brown, or was there a spot on side where it was a different color. Maybe the head gasket is leaking? I know the thin gaskets are hard to seal.

Also if it had overheated you would have seen that coolant coming out of the overflow. One idea is to route the overflow line so that it is right over the pipe. If it gets hot it will overflow onto the pipe and you will smell it.

Did you check for any vacuum leaks?

11-06-2006, 02:48 PM
electrical? :confused:

Eddiesanders250
11-06-2006, 04:23 PM
there is no white spot on the plug. It ran fine before with the same jetting and almost identical cylinder, i am ruling out that it could be a jetting problem. I put new reeds on maybe i put them on wrong?

Is there anyway i can find out if there is a leak in the boot somewhere with out just looking for it? leakdown test?

I am also thinking it probably isnt an electrical problem because it ran fine for almost a day then suddenly quit... I could be wrong though.

C-LEIGH RACING