PDA

View Full Version : 07 450r wont run.....

jatizasy
11-02-2006, 01:59 PM
What's up you all... I am new to the four wheeling game and this forum. I grew up on dirt bikes before atvs were made... but I rode a banshee and loved it... Just trying to give you some history. My problem is I loved the banshee, still got it, may even sell it, but I needed a four stroke so I could ride my wife with me. I bought a 2007 electric start 450r and a 250 ex for my wife last weekend. The 250 is execlent. My problem is with the 450r. The bike never has gotten where it will take fuel. I know it is new but I rode it for 6 hours in the mountains and I followed proper break in procedures. It will die if you just touch the fuel. It starts right back up and will idle fine. It also runs out very well unless you just barley touch the fuel switch. I took it back to honda and they saw what it was doing but could not fix it that day. So I left it. I thought it would be a air fuel mixture problem or maybe some drugs in the carb from the factory. I was just wondering if anyone else has had this problem with a new one.. Thanks in advane for your time..

mymastifftucker
11-02-2006, 02:25 PM
I have heard a lot of people with this problem, and the common fix seems to be changing the leak jet. My 07' does the same thing but not as severe as yours. If I understand the stock leak jet is a 70 or so, and you should change it to a 42 or 50. I would like to see the replies on this so I can fix mine also!! I guess I got caught up in the full throttle fun and let the off idle bog go!!

11-02-2006, 02:34 PM
these bike like the throttle...lowering the leak jet to a 45 or so will help with a throttle bog, but that does not sound like what you are experiencing

mymastifftucker
11-02-2006, 02:40 PM
He said it runs out fine, just doesnt want to run if you just touch the throttle. Sounds like an off idle bog to me.

BSTURDIVANT
11-02-2006, 06:42 PM
Could be the throttle overridew switch!

jatizasy