PDA

View Full Version : Buying a new Ute...need advice

scamutz
10-24-2006, 10:39 AM
Ok, so I haven't had an ATV since my Kawi KLT 160 (1987ish?), 3 wheeler..and Honda ATC 350X (In 1992). Both sweet trikes...but I have very little experience with quads, or any ATV's in the past 15 years.

I'm now in the market for a Sport/Ute ATV and need some advice. I need a winch, 4x4, and reverse. Other than that, I'd like to have it as sporty as possible.

Ideally I'd like to be able to get the front end off the ground if I want to, and be able to kick the *** end out around a turn. Does this exist in a Ute, or is it one or the other.

Any advice appreciated...

10-24-2006, 01:11 PM
I SAY THE YAMAHA WOLVERINE 450

rundrave
10-24-2006, 03:01 PM
Originally posted by scamutz
Ideally I'd like to be able to get the front end off the ground if I want to, and be able to kick the *** end out around a turn. Does this exist in a Ute, or is it one or the other.

Any advice appreciated...

I would say you could do this with alot of utilities....however the wolverine although a good machine leaves a lot to be desired in the sport category

I would suggesta scrambler, but they are a tad bit outdated. I love mine and you can wheelie with it, still sporty, and a great mudder, 4x4 etc.

There is not much else out there. Those are really the only 2 that fall under the sport/ute category.

Theres the renegade coming out...wish somebody else would look at this concept a little more. Could make for some fun machines.

10-24-2006, 04:32 PM
THE SCRAMBLERS GET BEAT OVER ALL BY THE WOLV----PLUS THE YAMAHA'S LAST 4EVER -- THE Polaris aaaaahhhhhhh well you know.

firefighterjosh
10-24-2006, 08:23 PM
What is you $$$ Limit? Also do you mind having a big Ute?

Maybe take a look at the Cam - AM 800 outlander, Kawie 700 Prarie, Arctic Cat 700, Suzuki 700 , Kawi Brtue Force 750 and 650

Can - Am is the fastest of all UTEs 2nd would prally be the Brute Force 750. Can - Am wil handle alot better.