PDA

View Full Version : Suspension

Northernrider
10-19-2006, 08:10 AM
I am new to the fully adjustable suspension!! looking for some info on how to set the suspension up, I am 175lbs and i have bottomed out the suspension on my 07 LTR with the dealer set up just making normal jumps, the pre-load is aproximatly at the 1/2 way point, i have not touched the rebound and dampening on this thing yet

Is it best to back everything off to the lowest setting and start adjusting from there?

My thinking that you want the pre-load to be tight enought to not bottomg out with me on it, The rebound should be set to the speed that i ride the track to ensure that its fully rebound before the next obstical and i am guesssing that the dampening should be used with the pre-load to get the right spring tention and to keep a plush ride

Please excuse my ignorence but i want to ensure i know where to start

Thanks for the help in advance

LTR-10
10-25-2006, 10:12 AM
i have an 06 and im 195 and i jump 70 ft doubles with the stock setup and dont bottom out. I dont think they changed anything for 07 but im not sure. With the preload spring nuts at halfway you should be fine, mine are at the top of the threads. try turning up your compresion screw about 3 clicks on the shocks that you think are bottoming maybe that is your problem. no comp. would cause the shock to drop too quickly. the comp. screw is on the top of the shock. use your manual for more info good luck

dg26
10-25-2006, 11:03 AM
Turn your compression in 1 full turn, you want the quad to bottom slightly on large jumps (mine bottoms on eighty plusers) so you use all of your available travel. If one turn doesn't please you turn the preload down half a turn.

Northernrider
10-25-2006, 12:02 PM
Well thanks for the info guys, i will be out and playing with the suspension on the weekend

CdaleXtreme
10-26-2006, 09:15 AM
You want to start by taking your front shock collars up in the front by 2cm, and about 1cm in the rear.