PDA

View Full Version : 450R VS an EX?

joker11
10-14-2006, 04:02 PM
Hey guys,
I am new to this and have been reading the heck out of this forum. Currently I have never ridden a quad. My kids bugged me for a couple years to get one. Well, I went and bought 4 for the family for Christmas. So nobody knows yet. What I WANTED was a water cooled engine. But looks like the only choice was a 450R type of ATV. Out of my price range for buying all 4. What I got was two TRX250EX's and two TRX90EX's for the kids. My buddy told me that the R series quads were for racing and required more maintenance and that they were not really good for what we intend to do: Explore the desert southwest here in Yuma, AZ. I have ZERO intentions of ever letting my family into the dunes here. I live 20 minutes away from the Imperial Sand Dunes in California. Think Glamis.
I know this is a long thread for a first time post. Sorry.
So would a 450R have been a good choice or am I really set with a 250ex? Is water cooled really the best bet? Are there aftermarket kits to water cool an EX?

deathman53
10-14-2006, 04:55 PM
get a 400ex, you will be more than set. You can get one used for about 3g's very well setup. The liquid cooling isn't too important, when racing every little edge you get can make the difference, but most riders will never notice it. A 400ex will feel alot faster and better handling than your 250ex. Don't buy into the hype, most won't notice much of a difference between a 400ex and 450r, they will notice the large increase in maintence cost.

EXtreme-
10-14-2006, 09:28 PM