PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading Vs. Reliability ?? Getting A Little Scared...

chapds
10-09-2006, 12:14 PM
Hi guys...

I'm new to the 450R world. I recently purchased a new old stock 05 450R & love it. My plans were only HRC kit & slip on. After reading alot of posts about the HRC kit, i'm a little scared. Seems like if you install the kit, you are going to sacrifice reliability for power. I took my 450R out this weekend & for me, it's fast as hell ( 5'4", about 140 lbs and using a GPS & a vapor computer, my friend & i clocked ourselves between 60-67 miles per hour). I'm SO Not a racer, as I just go to the desert with my friends & tear it up. I dont want to kill reliability for speed, period. I want to keep this quad for a long long time & have fun, not be wrenching it all the time ( minus usual maintenance ). I have a couple different options. I definetley want more sound, so I was just looking at the HMF sport slip. Would probably give me a very slight blip in power, but should retain all the the reliability I want. Also, Alba makes there full system kit with K&N, pipe, silencer etc. Not sure about the reliability, but Alba is right down the street from me, so having them service it up wouldn't be a problem. I'm also worried a little bit about warranty issues, as I have the 4 year extended warranty on my quad. Please let me know what you guys think. I would appreciate it.

Thanx
Chap

Martin Blair
10-09-2006, 12:18 PM
First off, if done and installed right the HRC will not hurt reliablity. I have had a 13:1 JE piston and Stage 2 Hotcam in my bike that I installed and setup myself for a little over a year, and not one hint of a problem. Light modifications that dont involing boring the cyclender, or bottom end work should not afeect reliablity at all. Boring and bottom end work, if done correctly should have no effect as well.