PDA

View Full Version : Finally Took Out My New 450R...

chapds
10-09-2006, 11:27 AM
Wow is all I can say. I purchased a new old stock 05 450R about 1 month ago & took it out to Ocotillo/Plaster City in Socal this weekend. I upgraded from an 05 Blaster. It took me a little bit to get used to the power of this thing, but by the second half of the day, it was just awesome. I'm relatively new to quadding & I must say, the power, the torque, & the overall control of this thing is amazing. I do want a steering stabilizer as soon as possible, but for now, I cant think of much else. I will eventually get the HRC kit as well as a pipe, but this ride was fantastic. Pulling it up in second was simple. My friend who I ride with ( an ex-racer ) had never ridden a 450R ( he has a balls out 250R ) & was just amazed at the stock power of this thing. Thanx guys for helping make my decision. I think I made the right one.

Thanx
Chap

MR.BIG
10-09-2006, 12:27 PM
That's awesome they do run good but they are really restricted so put a pipe and cam in it and it will run really wake it up. Good luck

chapds
10-09-2006, 12:31 PM
Thanx bro. I just posted another thread about Speed Vs. Reliability. I'm not a racer at all, and was wondering about that 15 hour piston change. My wallet cant take that. My initial plans were HRC & HMF slip, but now i'm not sure.

Thanx
Chap

MR.BIG
10-09-2006, 12:37 PM
I rode mine hard for 2 years with the stock piston! I finally put a 13.1 piston in it for more power!

chapds
10-09-2006, 12:52 PM
That is what I needed to hear my friend. Thanx alot, making me feel better...

Thanx
Chap

sandmanblue
10-10-2006, 02:22 PM
The 15 hour piston change interval is for the '06 - not 04/05. Yours should go 100+ hours.

Make sure you use a good quality oil WITH moly in the engine. HP4M is my fav. Change the engine oil after ever 2 - 3 rides. Change the oil filter every other oil change.

Tranny oil can go 4 - 6 rides. Use what Honda recommends.