PDA

View Full Version : heat torch???

Razorback
09-02-2002, 08:13 AM
i think i'm finally going to try again to get my pivot bolt out of the swingarm so i can lube the thing. i know it's seized/rusted to the spacer sleeve, so i want to heat it to see if that will help break it loose. i haven't used a heat torch before, so i'm a little concern about setting something on fire. how much of a risk is there when using these things? i'm just concerned with all the wd-40 and grease on the quad and getting a torch anywhere near it might cause problems :D

any help?

Ben
09-02-2002, 08:43 AM
hehe, I have no experience with this but please video tape it so we can see your ordeal. I've never seen a 400ex deliberately torched. :D hehe, just joking. Good luck with your project. :C

Rip_Tear
09-02-2002, 10:08 AM
You mean just a propane blow torch right? Just let the WD sit for over a day then use the torch and you shouldnt have any problems!

Razorback
09-02-2002, 01:01 PM
yeah, that's the kind of torch i was thinking about. just haven't used one, so i've got some reservations. thanks for the input...

TheX1992
09-02-2002, 06:05 PM
use knock'er loose penetrating fluid and an impact wrench :)

4punksdad
09-03-2002, 06:36 AM
heat is no good for bearings, engine gaskets, etc etc. keep the heat away from anything that will be damaged.

I would think the impact gun might be a better idea. Only use heat as a last resort.

yamaha1470
09-03-2002, 07:44 AM
doesnt heat make the bolt expand making it harder to get out?

UglyMotha™
09-03-2002, 08:57 AM