PDA

View Full Version : Airbox Removal?

baker450r
09-12-2006, 12:31 AM
I have a bone stock 2005 450r. Is it a good idea to remove the whole airbox or just remove the lid? Then what filter is the best to use. I am new to doing any mods and just need some help on what to do. After the airbox what is the next thing I should do? Any help would be appreciated.

firefighterjosh
09-12-2006, 12:36 AM
Do you have the HRC kit from Honda? If not I would get it. It includes, cam, Airbox Mod (replacing lid), exhaulst mod and jetted. They do all the work and last time I check it was $300. It made a huge diffrence on my buds 450r.

O yea and it is still under warranty:D

QuadJunkies
09-12-2006, 10:19 AM
Originally posted by firefighterjosh
Do you have the HRC kit from Honda? If not I would get it. It includes, cam, Airbox Mod (replacing lid), exhaulst mod and jetted. They do all the work and last time I check it was $300. It made a huge diffrence on my buds 450r.

O yea and it is still under warranty:D

agreed. It is a great investment

baker450r
09-12-2006, 11:34 AM
Are the kits easy to install, or is it best to have a shop do it. I am not very mechanically inclined, I can change the oil just fine, but I do not know much more then that. I was also told the HRC kit for the '05 was just the new cam, is that true?Thanks for the help.

QuadJunkies
09-12-2006, 11:40 AM
If a shop does it, you will be warrentied. Most warrenties void if you do the labor yourself.

gbcap
09-12-2006, 11:47 AM
you can remove the air box....but style riding do you do? unless your dragging or duning only i wouldn't suggest it. otherwise taking the lid off is a MAJOR boost in power, but you have to rejet the carb.

there are a few small things they do along with the hrc kit, exhuast tip, breather t, airbox lid, jetting and then the cam.