PDA

View Full Version : Building Banshee for 2007 Pikes Peak Hill Climb

Ryanwolfe911
09-07-2006, 10:08 AM
I just wanted to let you guys know i am building a 1997 Banshee that I just picked up for nexts years Pike's Peak International Hill Climb. I was wondering if anyone on this forum has ever competed in that event, and if you did, what kind of engine mods did you have done. I am totally new to Yamaha's, as I have owned Hondas all my life. Any help would be appreciated.

PS, here's the link to the site, if you've never heard of it.

www.ppihc.com

Mxjunkie
09-08-2006, 06:40 AM
I'd contact either Trinity or Duncan racing for a motor, all the drag engine builders may be able to build you one as well but I've allway's herd duncan and trinity for that type of racing :)

Ryanwolfe911
09-08-2006, 06:56 AM
I thought about having Mark Baldwin build me one, since I live 10 minutes from Baldwin Motorsports, but he doesn't have much Yamaha expirience. He most concentrates onthe 450R for Tim Farr. I do have some porting expirience on 4 strokes, but I've never tried it on a 2 stroke, since I know that porting a 2 stroke will change timing, I'd rather leave that to an expert, especially a Banshee expert.

bradley300
09-08-2006, 08:28 AM
honestly, from what i have seen about the pikes peak hill climb, if your on a atv forum asking about set up ideas, then you need to wait a few years, maybe attend as a spectator and talk to people that have done the race. from what ive seen, this is not a race to just show up on race day for your first try like a gncc or the like

Ryanwolfe911
09-08-2006, 10:13 AM