PDA

View Full Version : Throttle too stiff....suspension the same

MisterEX
09-05-2006, 01:55 PM
Hello all, I've been riding my EX for a few years...not many mods other than a bumper, K&N filter, slip on muffler and nerf bars. I wanted to ask you people what is up with the stock suspension on this quad. Its way too stiff and doesn't have nice damping over bumps at all. I am comparing this to my friends Banshee....I hate to say it the Banshee F'in floats over bumps....my EX...I can feel every pebble under me....whats up with that? I weigh about 150lbs....am I too light for this thing? Not for the Banshee....the suspension on that feels so good and I'm WAY faster on it...and not because of the engine. No I dont want a Banshee. I want my EX to go over obstacles like the Banshee

Next the thumb throttle is too stiff. Is there a workaround for this? After a few hours my thumb is beat...and no Im not a P#@@y either so dont go there. I would love an easier throttle return spring....Any ideas? Anyway looking forward to your responses.

krt400ex
09-05-2006, 01:59 PM
apparently ur suspension is shot. my quad is too soft for me and i weigh like 165-170.i would get new shocks because the ex suspension is much more supple then any stock shocked banshee. as for ur throttle, a new cable should do the trick. u could try lubing the cable first to see if that helps, but a new cable is only $10 so that is what i would do.

exrider008
09-05-2006, 02:00 PM
the bashee shocks r way stiffer then the 400ex. did u try to adjust them? IMO the 400ex has close to the best shocks for trail riding.

about the thumb throttle my old 300ex did the same thing...i couldnt ride it for more then 20 min and my thumb would hert like hell. all it did was take a little WD40 and spray it down the cable.

underpowered
09-05-2006, 02:16 PM
for the shocks, try adjusting the preload on them.