PDA

View Full Version : weird?

bansheerider4
09-04-2006, 10:18 AM
so yesterday i went to take my banshee for a ride after i started it i gave it throttle maybe 3 times to get it to idle and to warm up....then before i was about to go i gave it gas again and i heard this weird sound coming out of the silencer (the left one)so i put my hand behind it pushed the throttle and it wasnt a steady flow of air it like popped out in a burst but then i was like maybe it was cuz i just washed it and waters still in it so i started to go but i heard nothing...then when i let it sit for a bit it started doing that again:confused:

so does anyone ever have this problem or know what it is or is it just nothing to worry about?

bansheexcracer2
09-04-2006, 11:34 AM
mine did that, so I replaced the packing an dit took care of the problem. Open your silencer and see if your packing is bad.

bansheerider4
09-04-2006, 11:38 AM
im new to this so how will i know if its bad?

yellowzo3
09-04-2006, 12:01 PM
make sure you didnt foul any plugs and your carbs are clean as well.

bansheerider4
09-04-2006, 12:02 PM
umm how will you know if you fouled a plug?(sorry not real big on the engine stuff yet)

yellowzo3
09-04-2006, 12:14 PM
well it could be a variety of different colors. heres a chart that may help you out.

http://www.verrill.com/moto/sellingguide/sparkplugs/plugcolorchart.htm

if you havent replaced your stock plugs in a while i recommend replacing them anyway. oh, and also make sure your air filter is clean.

bansheerider4
09-04-2006, 12:24 PM
thanks and when you clean the air filter dont you have to use kerosene or something cuz i heard water rips it?

bansheerider4
09-04-2006, 12:42 PM
mine did that, so I replaced the packing an dit took care of the problem. Open your silencer and see if your packing is bad