PDA

View Full Version : got 300exs together, I hear a ticking sound.......

rebelbuggy
09-01-2006, 03:56 PM
Okay so I finally got her all together and crunk her up, she crunk up the first try and well its running.. but a few problems

Problem One: is my throttle lever seems to be back towards me to much and so it wont idel right I dont know if i can move it forward or not....

so I have to keep my thumb on the thorttle or it die..

Problem 2 is that I hear a tick tick tick ticking sound, my father said sounds like the valuves so Im guessing I should adjust them..

problem 3 ...
well I ran it for like 10 minutes to let warm up and I did a oil change everything looked great then I started riding it again and now oil is coming out of the head top.. its not that much but pretty good enough the top fins are covered and around the exhust pipe ( No blue SMOKE at all out the pipe)

Also it doesnt have any power, when you nail the throttle it just like dies out... Im guesisng I will have to re jet the carb...

I bored her over .40 and got 11:1 comperson now.. some had said i should rejet guess they was right...

I know I have had ALOT of questions today but I dont have really anyone else to help me. thank goddness my gf helped me put together the four wheeler

btw im 26 so no little kid

bradley300
09-01-2006, 04:03 PM
there should be some adjustment either on top of the carb, or at the throttle housing to adjust the throttle cable

the valves need adjusted

you might have forgot a washer on the external oil line, or just might not have the bolts tight enuff

adjust the cable and re jet

rebelbuggy
09-01-2006, 04:33 PM
Originally posted by bradley300
there should be some adjustment either on top of the carb, or at the throttle housing to adjust the throttle cable

the valves need adjusted

you might have forgot a washer on the external oil line, or just might not have the bolts tight enuff

adjust the cable and re jet