PDA

View Full Version : How to get broken valve cover bolt out?

Chino886
08-31-2006, 08:08 PM
Well, the previous owner broke one of the valve cover bolts off in the head.

How do I go about getting the remaining piece out? Do I have to take the head off?

I am thinking a bolt extractor but I have never used one before!

nicktrx450r
08-31-2006, 08:16 PM
where did it break at? top..bottom..middle?

Chino886
08-31-2006, 08:18 PM
Originally posted by nicktrx450r
where did it break at? top..bottom..middle?

If I had to guess, I would say that there are about 3-4 threads still down in the hole, it is not protruding out of the hole....:grr:

Scro
08-31-2006, 08:20 PM
If you take the cover off, there may be a little bit sticking out. You may could use a vise grip to back it out then. I've never used an easy-out, but they say that works well.

As a last resort, we have had to weld a nut on the end of a broke bolt before. But that's only if there is a little sticking out.

Chino886
08-31-2006, 08:23 PM
Originally posted by bama450r
If you take the cover off, there may be a little bit sticking out. You may could use a vise grip to back it out then. I've never used an easy-out, but they say that works well.

As a last resort, we have had to weld a nut on the end of a broke bolt before. But that's only if there is a little sticking out.

yeah, there is not a piece sticking out, it is all in the whole......LOOKS like I have a new project.....EASY OUT.....so they say! LOL!

This is after I fix the damn spinning gas tank nut!!!!!

I have only got to ride her once......damn the luck! To bad I care for my quads enough to tear it apart before there was some real damage!

Punk'd
09-01-2006, 01:57 PM
Same happened to me, but with little luck I have I was able to spin it out with my fingers:confused:

Dont drop the easy-out in the motor:eek:

GPracer2500
09-01-2006, 02:00 PM
Punk'd, did you get your engine back together?

Punk'd
09-01-2006, 02:31 PM
Originally posted by GPracer2500