PDA

View Full Version : "Career Advice"

FourFiftyFour
08-25-2006, 12:08 AM
Well its late at night and for some reason I cant sleep..

For the past few years, I have had a mental block about what major I want to go for and what kind of career I want. At first right out of high school I went to an art college to get a Graphic Design degree...however, I figured out the lifestyle was definitely not for me. Since then I have tried to figure out a major and I am getting nowhere.. the counselors at the college are not very helpful...I have taken those aptitude tests and they dont really help out either. The tests say I should be an engineer or something like that...I am about the worst person at math you will ever meet! Algebra 1 in high school gave me nightmares! So the aptitude tests seem WAY off to me haha.I have gone as far as asking people who know me really well what they could see me doing and no one can think of one thing. Its really frustrating!!!

Im not very good at math and not mechanically enclined. Nor am I a really big people person and definitely dont want to go into a teaching or medical type career. I dont want to take the "easy way out" and get a Business degree...no offense Business majors...but they are wayy too many of yall out there! Its getting to be too many BAs in business and now you pretty much have to get a Masters to make it mean much of anything if you major in Business.

What did you all do to find a major or does anyone have any good advice or know of a major that might be a one suited for me? I know were all pretty similar since we have that "racer mentality" thats why I am asking on here..

PismoLocal
08-25-2006, 12:21 AM
So what do you enjoy doing?

FourFiftyFour
08-25-2006, 12:24 AM
basically racing....lol jk