PDA

View Full Version : Blue Exhaust flames?

tye101
08-12-2006, 08:01 PM
hi, i need to know if my quad is running to rich, or to lean,, all the info of my mods is at the bottom of my sig,,,

My header pipe glows red hot,, and after u gun the engine,, sometimes it backfires blue flames out the exhaust,, is this a problem?, or just part of it ?,, i rejetted it after i put on the full exhaust,, but not after i added the intake,,,

Thanks

ak_stick
08-12-2006, 08:14 PM
I'm no expert, but blue flames would indicate that you have alot of unburned gas in your exhaust, hence your WAY rich.

400eXr1d3rZ
08-12-2006, 08:19 PM
but redhot header means your quad is running super hot, thus lean? I have a thread about this somewhere but its about a warrior.

http://www.exriders.com/vbb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=246898

GPracer2000 quote!:

My guess is his pilot circuit is too lean. Flames coming out of the exhaust doesn't necessarily mean he's too rich. Flames shooting from the exhaust can be caused by being too rich OR to lean. I would think a blue flame (as oppose to yellow/orange) suggests a lean condition. Rich mixtures burn cooler (yellow/orange flames) while lean or stoich mixtures burn hotter (blue flames). But just the fact that this condition developed after adding a slip-on makes a lean condition by far the most likely.

It seems like a way too lean mixture would consume every last bit of fuel. That (incorrect) assumption causes confusion and begs the question of how a lean air/fuel mixture can create flames shooting from the exhaust. The answer: Lean mixtures burn unreliably. This causes pockets of air/fuel mixture in the combustion chamber to occasionally not burn at all. These unburned mixtures get passed out of the engine into the exhaust. As unburned fuel passes through the exhaust it will occasionally find conditions that allow it to ignite and the result is flames shooting from the exhaust.