PDA

View Full Version : Now that the jet kit is installed...

Vx2
08-07-2006, 07:47 AM
So I now have the Yosh full system, K&N filter, and Dynojet installed. Throttle response and accelleration have both improved. But when I am sliding through or coming out of turns the engine starts to sputter, almost like it's going to die. This happens even at high rpms during a power slide.

What could be wrong??

Thanks.

buster024
08-07-2006, 08:02 AM
What jet size did you use? Is your airbox lid off? How many turns on the air/fuel mixture screw? What notch is the needle at?

Vx2
08-07-2006, 09:04 AM
The dealer installed a 170 jet. The air box lid is still on. I did not plan on altering the lid. I don't know about the turns on the screw since I didn't install it.

Thanks.

buster024
08-07-2006, 09:09 AM
I'm not an expert, but I fiddled with my carb enough that I can re-jet my bike in about 15 minutes. It sounds to me like it may be to lean...??? Try dropping down to a 165, second notch, 2-1/2 turns. I run a 155 main jet, and I've got the same bike, with the same mods you do. I pulled the quiet core out of my Yoshi, and I don't run with my airbox lid on, so I had to drop down quite a bit. If you've never done it, just ask, or check out the following link. It's pretty simple stuff if you take your time.

http://www.exriders.com/vbb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=221872

underpowered
08-07-2006, 09:30 AM
Originally posted by buster024
I'm not an expert, but I fiddled with my carb enough that I can re-jet my bike in about 15 minutes. It sounds to me like it may be to lean...??? Try dropping down to a 165, second notch, 2-1/2 turns. I run a 155 main jet, and I've got the same bike, with the same mods you do. I pulled the quiet core out of my Yoshi, and I don't run with my airbox lid on, so I had to drop down quite a bit. If you've never done it, just ask, or check out the following link. It's pretty simple stuff if you take your time.