PDA

View Full Version : Is the Cobra 50 the real deal? Pappy please read!

ewathen
08-01-2006, 08:31 PM
My son started riding this summer on a e-ton viper 50. He is doing pretty awsome and wants to race next year. I was buying into all the hype about the typhoons. But now I am getting scared about them. I also don't wan't to spend $5000 building a kasea or some other quad when I can get the cobra for $6500.

Bottom line: Are the Cobras that much better than everything else. From what I saw at the World powersport tour in Rossville. they are pretty awsome.

They seem like they are built stonger than the other quads.

I would like everyones honest opinons on these quads.

By the way, the boy turns 5 in december.

Thanks

Eric

Pappy
08-01-2006, 08:52 PM
If I were serious about racing, then the Cobra would be the one I would look into. I received your pm, and I thank you for the kind words. However, I have very little hands on experience with the Cobras, but at your request I will inform you of what I have been told when I was looking at making a purchase.

Great quads, decently built. Factory seems to want to be involved and will help with issues. Decent suspension, excellent compared to the rest of the market. Enough power from the 50 to keep most young riders happy but safe, and can be made to rip if needed.

The downsides I have been told are, cracked frames, typical engine issues and generally need more maintenance then a standard production mini. In a true race quad these issues are to be somewhat expected I guess, but for $6500 you would think it would be all maintenance and typical wear items. I have been warned to expect tranny repairs but again, I have no first hand knowledge, only what has been told to me by those that I trust to feed me good info with no BS.